15 Comments

I'm biased towards professional development and business for my podcast listening needs. Diary of a CEO and Freakonomics are must listens. What I like about these podcast are how they explore human behaviour and motivations. Diary of a CEO is a personal account, whereas Freakonomics works at a US/global level.

I rarely listen to podcast to understand one topic. I listen to podcasts to expand and challenge my thinking. I love podcasts that introduce me to new topics or people. I then tend to go into in a rabbit hole for more depth.

Expand full comment
Feb 12, 2022Liked by David I. Adeleke

"The African Creator" a podcast that focuses on the creator economy in Africa, interviews with digital creators and deep dives into things like distribution, monetization, platforms and more. Also a new podcast titled "Menisms", all things Nigerian men are afraid to discuss in public with a bit of humor! Discalimer: Our podcast network produce both, but I think they are great listens and visuals too.

Expand full comment

The Off Air show with Gbemi & Toolz does a good job addressing current happenings in Nigeria (and around the world) with even more levity than you'd think possible, while not missing a beat with its ability to pass useful lessons.

Another favourite of mine is The Letters to Boyz podcast by Femi Bakes. Just like the title says, it's a love letter to "boys" teaching them how to become better men for themselves and the society.

On the more serious side, I enjoy listening to CoinMarketCap recap. It keeps me up to date with all things Crypto.

There are so many I can't mention right now. I grew up loving the radio, so it was pretty easy for me to find common ground with listening to podcasts. I hope to launch one of mine someday, hopefully soon.

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2022Liked by David I. Adeleke

Hi David. Talking about podcasts, I have a lot of them that I love esp Nigerian Podcasts.

Tea with Tay: His sense of humor gets me a lot,

How Far with Eazi and Temi: I mean, who doesn't love Love?,

To my sisters: I love anything Girltalk, it's so relatable.

Honourable mention: ISWIS.

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2022Liked by David I. Adeleke

Favorite Podcasts - Business Wars, American Scandal, Open Africa.

My reasons for liking them are very much in line with my passions. I love business and stories about boardroom battles. How business leaders make strategic decisions and respond to challenges - Always insight laden. Open Africa helps me understand the fintech space in Nigeria a lot more.

American Scandal satisfies my love for "ofofo" and "gist" about the crazy things that have happened on this earth. There are other podcasts i listen to with similar themes but these are the ones i have enjoyed the most thoroughly.

I struggle with "social" podcasts if thats the word to best describe them. I feel clubhouse/twitter spaces do that job of keeping you plugged into topical issues. I enjoy Gbemi & Toolz whenever i get to listen.

Expand full comment
Feb 8, 2022·edited Feb 8, 2022Liked by David I. Adeleke

My favourite podcast is called Inside A Bubble. They tell stories humans experience and life. It's something I hadn't encountered; before dealing with a range of topics like human relationships, navigating depression and understanding cultural differences. And the best part is that the stories are human-sourced. It's not you hearing someone drone on and on about a topic; it's hearing different people who relate to or experience the topic tell the stories themselves. Really refreshing.

Expand full comment

Have to say I'm very oppressed by these comments. A lot of serious business people here. 😂

I listen to How I Built This cos it's I find it very interesting to hear about people that literally built their businesses from scratch (albeit in a working society). It motivates me a lot

I listen to Revisionist History as well. I love it because I'm a sucker for History and the insights it gives as to things that happened in the past and how they affect us now is really what keeps me coming back.

Listen to ISWIS and Off Air too in my free time when I want to laugh.

Expand full comment